Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

About GRK1194 "Self-organizing Sensor-Actuator-Networks"

Research Training Group (RTG) GRK1194 "Self-organizing Sensor-Actuator-Networks" was established in 2005. Just like other 211 RTG projects funded by DFG (German Research Foundation), the goal of GRK1194 is to help doctoral researchers by imparting a rich knowledge base and to get ready for excellent research in international and interdisciplinary collaborations. In a three-year training program, the doctoral researchers organize their research projects independently with the support of advisers from different disciplines.

The researches focused by GRK1194 is "Self-organizing Sensor-Actuator-Networks". Sensor-actuator-networks consisting of numerous small and autonomous devices can be used to monitor and control physical phenomena. To make sure the requirements can be fulfilled, the system should be efficient, reliable, and cost-effective. Therefore many issues related to hardware, communication, and information processing have to be investigated. Accordingly, three subprojects of GRK1194 emphasize their efforts in tackling research problems within these three areas respectively.

The GRK1194 members consist of 10 professors and 11 doctoral researchers coming from 7 institutes. Since the research sensor-actuator-networks is interdisciplinary, each individual doctoral researcher has to focus on one specific research topic in sensor-actuator-networks while collaborating with other members in different research areas. During the training period, the doctoral researchers are encouraged to participate research tasks in overseas research organizations. This assists the young researchers in developing their independence and building their international connections.

GRK1194 is a nine-year project divided into three phases and now in its second phase. All of its first phase doctoral researchers have completed their program and successfully got their degree. The second generation will finish by 2012. At the same time the third phase is going to begin.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Das GRK 1194 "Selbstorganisierende Sensor-Aktor-Netzwerke"

Das Graduiertenkolleg GRK1194 "Selbstorganisierende Sensor-Aktor-Netzwerke" wurde 2005 gegründet. Wie bei den anderen 211 von der DFG (Deutschen Forscher Gemeinschaft) geförderten Graduiertenkollegs, steht auch beim GRK1194 das Ziel im Vordergrund, den Kollegiaten ein breites Grundlagenwissen zu vermitteln und sie für exzellente Forschung auf internationalem Niveau zu stärken. Während der dreijährigen Förderphase organisieren die Doktorarbeiter ihre Forschungsprojekte eigenständig und werden dabei von Professoren aus unterschiedlichen Fachbereichen unterstützt.

Die Forschung im GRK1194 konzentriert sich auf "Selbstorganisierende Sensor-Aktor-Netzwerke". Sensor-Aktor-Netzwerke bestehen aus zahlreichen kleinen und autonomen Geräten, die verwendet werden um physikalische Phänomene zu überwachen und zu steuern. Um alle Anforderungen zu erfüllen sollte das System effizient, zuverlässig und kosteneffizient sein. Deshalb müssen verschiedene Aspekte mit Bezug zu Hardware, Kommunikation und Informationsverarbeitung untersucht werden. Das GRK1194 richtet sich inhaltlich dementsprechend an den drei Teilgebieten aus und nimmt in den behandelten Forschungsfragen Bezug auf diese Gebiete.

Die Mitglieder des GRK1194 bestehen aus 10 Professoren und 11 Doktorarbeitern aus 7 Instituten. Die Forschung an Sensor-Aktor-Netzwerken im Graduiertenkolleg ist interdisziplinär organisiert. Jeder Doktorarbeiter konzentriert sich auf einen Aspekt von Sensor-Aktor-Netzwerken, arbeitet zugleich aber mit den Forschern aus anderen Forschungsrichtungen zusammen. Die Teilnahme an Forschungstätigkeiten an ausländischen  Forschungseinrichtungen während der Promotionszeit wird explizit gefördert. Das soll die Eigenständigkeit und Knüpfung von internationalen Kontakten unterstützen.

Die Förderdauer des GRK1194 ist auf neun Jahre beschränkt und in drei Förderperioden aufgeteilt. Aktuell befindet sich das Graduiertenkolleg in der zweiten Förderperiode. Die Doktorarbeiter der ersten Phase haben alle das Förderprogramm erfolgreich durchlaufen und inzwischen ihren Doktortitel erhalten. Die zweite Generation wird 2012 fertig sein. Zeitgleich beginnt die dritte Förderperiode.